In a meeting with independents, Sheikh Hasina urged parliament to lear

Member of parliament meet with Sheikh Hasina

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina has urged the independent candidates of the 12th parliament to know well about the rules and procedures of the parliament.


In the opening speech of the meeting with individual MPs at the Ganabhaban on Sunday evening, he said, “The history of Bangladesh should be known, and the constitution should be imbibed. Parliament Rules of Procedure should be read.”


The first session of the new Parliament will be held next Tuesday. Before that, Awami League president Sheikh Hasina, who is serving as the prime minister for the fourth consecutive time, sat in this meeting with independent members of parliament on Sunday. Jatiya Sangsad Chief Whip Nur e Alam Chowdhury is conducting the meeting.


Out of the 62 independent parliamentarians who have been invited to this meeting, 59 are Awami League leaders.


Awami League did not allow anyone from the party to vote against the party candidates to create an atmosphere of competition in the last January 7 elections amid the exclusion of BNP and like-minded people. Because of that, the Awami League leaders of different levels competed as independent candidates against the boats in each seat. Boat lost 46 seats to independent candidates.


Addressing individual MPs at the beginning of the meeting, Sheikh Hasina said, “Our parliament is a Westminster type parliament. Parliament should know the practice well.”


Awami League has won 223 seats in this election. Their partners Bangladesh Workers Party and Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal got one seat each. Bangladesh Kalyan Party won one with the support of Awami League.


Jatiya Party has also suffered due to independent candidates. The Awami League had nominated boat candidates in 26 seats, discounting the main opposition party in the last two parliaments. But in 14 independent candidates, the leaders of the ruling party defeated Langal’s candidate.


After a record number of independent candidates won and the second-largest party in Parliament, the Jatiya Party’s number of seats fell to 11, questions also arose about who will be the opposition party in Parliament.


However, in the end, Jatiya Party leader GM Quader was recognized as the leader of the opposition and Anisul Islam Mahmud as the deputy leader by Speaker Shirin Sharmin Chowdhury.


Independent MPs will get 10 of the reserved seats for women if they combine. However, individual MPs are divided on whether they will form an alliance or not.


Several parliamentarians told that what they will do will depend on Sheikh Hasina’s direction.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *